Weekend Recall: I Was Not Prepared

Standard

I am happy to announce that I finally got to play Warlords of Draenor. It only took three days for me to finally be able to play on a medium population server (Silver Hand) where my Alliance paladin Chexter lives.

wod_new_quest

It was really nice to see the Warlords of Draenor quest message.

Saturday morning I adventured with Chexter the Paladin through the introductory quest line. I even attempted tanking in the first dungeon of the expansion called the Bloodmaul Slag Mines. It went well, but I felt a bit squishy which is probably due to the fact Chexter doesn’t have any Mists of Pandaria raid gear.

wod_chexter_slagmines

Creating the garrison was really cool and I spent a few minutes running around taking screenshots. I don’t know how new it is, but the world seems a lot less static than I remember. There are a lot more NPCs running around giving life to the area. One of the NPCs even tracked me as I walked around her and I didn’t even have her targeted.

wod_alliance_garrison

I decided to take a break right after establishing Chexter’s garrison to reassess my leveling plan. My original plan was to level Beefyshield the Tauren warrior first because I am, “For the Horde.” But, my Horde server (Kil’jaeden) was still experiencing long queue times of several hours on Saturday. Although Chexter was on my list to be leveled second after Beefyshield; I don’t know anyone on Silver Hand anymore and I can’t stand a silent guild chat.

wod_portal_inside

I decided to log into Aerie Peak (which was open on Saturday) where I have my only other Alliance characters: Pawfury the Pandaren monk and Bladehearn the Worgen warrior. I leveled Pawfury up until he unlocked his garrison then switched to Bladehearn. I ended up playing Bladehearn the rest of the day and leveling him up to 92.

bladehearn_fight

Sunday morning I was finally able to log in to Kil’jaeden. That would be four days after the official launch day of the expansion. Since my original leveling plan was messed up I decided to level Misfight the Undead rogue. Misfight is special as he is the first World of Warcraft character I ever created. He was the first character to reach max level in the Burning Crusade and I learned how to raid with him in Karazhan.

misfight_portal

Bladehearn and Misfight will be my first characters to adventure their way to level cap, but I am not in any rush to get there. I am finding that there are a lot things to experience in this expansion and I am going to take my time. Although things are not perfect with the expansion launch I think things are finally getting better and I am continuing to take lots of screenshots that I will share soon.

I was not prepared for how much fun I am having in Warlords of Draenor.

wod_npc

Leave a Reply

