Bump Day: Science Fiction Music

Standard

You may not know who Gustav Holst was, but if you are a science fiction movie fan you probably have heard his music or listened to movie scores inspired by his most famous orchestral suite The Planets. Since I am playing a lot of Star Wars: The Old Republic I was reminded that the music we hear in games have roots in older musical works.

I have embedded the video I found with the best audio. Can you pick out themes in Holst’s work that you have heard in more recent scores?

Here is the SWTOR main theme for you to enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Bump Day: Science Fiction Music

  1. My grandfather introduced me to classical music early. I have always loved the Planets.
    My favourite Sci-fi classical music must be the opening for Space Odyssey: Richard Strauss’ ‘Also Sprach Zarathustra’

Leave a Reply

