Bump Day: Free Food Is Good Food

Standard

My day at work started with an email that went out from the receptionist that there was a box of free sodas and to swing by her desk to get one. Who am I to pass up on the generosity of others so I went and picked up a 16 oz Dr Pepper® which I thoroughly enjoyed.

That whole experience reminded me about one of my rules of life: free food is good food. This rule simply reminds me to be grateful when someone offers to either buy  or prepare and share a meal. Even now as an adult I am more than capable of preparing food to eat (not simply in a microwave), but every time I visit my Mom she insists on cooking. So I make sure to let her know how much I appreciate her and the food.

I wish I had been better at thanking people when I was in high school and college. Countless times, my friend’s Moms would prepare snacks or make dinner, but I didn’t go out of my way to show my appreciation for being fed. I eventually got better at showing my gratitude as I got older because I learned that free food tastes good when you focus on appreciating the person and not the food.

Leave a Reply

