Bump Day: The Important Things

Standard

Looking forward to the weekend…

I have a passion for video games, in fact, it is my main form of entertainment. Although I like to spend long periods of time on my weekends fully immersed in a game, I know how important it is to spend time with people. Nothing is more important than spending time with people I love and who love me in return. This weekend I get to celebrate my girlfriend’s birthday and spend some quality time with some friends from my church.

I am ashamed to admit that there have been periods of time in my life that I would neglect family and friends in order to play a video game. I justified neglecting close relationships because I convinced myself that I was not playing the game alone and that the people I chatted with on Ventrilo were my friends. Out of the hundreds if not thousands of people I have met through various video games I am only in contact with two. I am not saying that friendships cannot be created through playing a video game, but if someone is neglecting the relationships they have in real life then that is a problem. I should know, when I was struggling with depression all I did was play video games. Eventually I learned that I needed the people who were already a part of my life to support me and help me.

Just as I can not wait to make a birthday dinner for my girlfriend and spend time with her, I encourage you to spend time with someone close to you. Perhaps you have a parent who would not mind going out for ice cream, a sibling who could use a good talk, a spouse who needs a break from chores, a classmate who needs a friend, a neighbor who needs help with the lawn, a co-worker in need of a babysitter… video games are great fun, but it is very important not to ignore the important things.

3 thoughts on “Bump Day: The Important Things

  1. Awwws. 🙂

    It’s an important thing you say here, and courageous of you to tell us about it! I think most MMO players have had times of which they later thought “maybe I was a bit too absorbed by the game back then”. I know I was at some points, when I was living alone and didn’t have enough energy left over to meet with other people during the week. The important part is the moment of realization.

    Have fun this weekend!

Leave a Reply

